Calee Reed’s Debut Album Born out of Tragedy

The Waiting Place CDWhile her mother underwent treatments for terminal cancer, Calee Reed wrote the songs that would become her debut album The Waiting Place, releasing May 8th.  The effort helped buoy Reed up during that painful time.  It was her way of finding hope in the devastation of the disease.

Now, a year after her mother’s passing, Reed hopes the finished album will help others who are dealing with similar struggles.

“All the advice and well wishes in the world couldn’t help me at certain points during my mother’s illness, but music always could” Reed says.  “Hopefully some part of my experience can help someone else through their trial.”

During the month of May, all proceeds from the download of Reed’s original song “She Put the Music in Me” (on iTunes) will be donated to the Huntsman Cancer Foundation.  A music video for the song was made in tribute to Reed’s mother and will debut before Mother’s Day.

The album is distributed by Shadow Mountain Records.  Bob Ahlander, director of music at Deseret Book expects The Waiting Place to cross genres and be embraced by many people. “Calee’s current sound and meaningful songs will make her an instant favorite” Ahlander says.  “We are lucky to be working with her.”

There will be two concerts to celebrate the release of the album.

  • May 11th 7pm – CD Release Concert at Sammy’s Café in Provo
  • May 12th 8pm – Summer Back 2 School Block Party at The Ivy Apartments in Rexburg, ID


The tracks on The Waiting Place include many original songs with contemporary arrangements:

  1. 1The Waiting Place - The Waiting Place
  2. 2The Waiting Place - Give My Heart Your Peace
  3. 3The Waiting Place - Come, Thou Fount_I Am A Child Of God
  4. 4The Waiting Place - Closer To You
1.Give My Heart Your Peace

2. Better Than a Hallelujah

3. Called to Serve

4. Closer to You

5. Time for Love

6. Trust in God

7. The Waiting Place

8. Where Can I Turn for Peace?/Be Still, My Soul

9. She Put the Music in Me

10. Come, Thou Fount/I Am a Child of God

Broadway Star Releases Debut Album

Les Miserables Broadway star Sandra Turley released her debut album featuring a collection of popular musical hits.  She teamed up with Shadow Mountain Records to produce the self-titled album Sandra Turley: On Broadway.

With a sound straight from the stage, Turley’s voice brings a new life to favorite Broadway hits including “Popular from Wicked, “Think of Me” from Phantom of the Opera and “On My Own” from Les Miserables.

Turley feels that show tunes are the ultimate way to tell a story, “The melodies in this album tell tales of their own, but coupled with masterful lyrics and poetic imagery, these songs become stories that can capture our hearts,” Turley said.

Turley’s love for music and Broadway can be heard in each song she sings. “Each of these songs reflects my passion for living and my hope for us is to feel deeply and learn clearly the lessons found in our own stories,” Turley said. “These are the stories that make my heart sing.”

Sandra Turley: On Broadway tracks:

  1. Spark of Creation (Children of Eden)
  2. Astonishing (Little Women)
  3. On My Own (Les Miserables)
  4. For Good (Wicked)
  5. The Girl in 14G (Thoroughly Modern Millie)
  6. Gimme Gimme (Thoroughly Modern Millie)
  7. Popular (Wicked)
  8. The Sound of Music (The Sound of Music)
  9. Think of Me (Phantom of the Opera)
  10. Les Miserables Medley (Les Miserables)
  11. Bonus Track: Christmas Lullaby


Sandra Turley performed the role of Cosette in Les Miserables on Broadway in New York City and was part of the original closing cast. Sandra was invited to perform the role of Cosette in the Shanghai, China premiere of Les Miserables alongside Broadway star, Colm Wilkinson. She received her BFA from Brigham Young University with a major in Music, Dance and Theater. She performed as Ariel in Disney World’s stage production of The Little Mermaid. Among her favorite performances were singing for Steve Young’s Forever Young Foundation events and also singing for the 2004 Republican National Convention. Sandra performs concerts and enjoys motivational speaking and singing across the country.  For more information, please visit