Bestselling artist Jenny Oaks Baker will delight fans young and old with her newest album, Wish upon a Star: A Tribute To The Music of Walt Disney. The album features songs produced and arranged by Emmy-award-winning composer Kurt Bestor.

This project comes one year after her Billboard #1 hit, Then Sings My Soul.  “We are expecting a great response to this album,” says Bob Ahlander, head of Shadow Mountain Records, the label that produces Baker’s albums. “These are the songs we all know and love, but in this case they are performed by a virtuoso who takes them to a whole new level. Her fans will love it, and I predict she will win over a whole new bunch of people with this amazing project.”

Baker delivers a mix of popular favorites and lesser-known melodies on this highly anticipated track list:

  1. Colors of the Wind
  2. When You Wish Upon a Star
  3. Beauty and the Beast
  4. A Whole New World
  5. God Help the Outcasts
  6. A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes
  7. Mary Poppins Fantasia
  8. Part of Your World
  9. Once Upon a Dream
  10. Can You Feel the Love Tonight?
  11. Baby Mine

Baker will perform in conjunction with Education Week August 16-19 at 8pm.  All performances will be in the Madsen Recital Hall.  At the concert, she will perform songs from Wish Upon a Star.


Jenny Oaks Baker:  Ms. Baker is one of America’s most accomplished classical violinists. She began playing the violin at age four, and received her Master of Music degree from the renowned Juilliard School in New York City and her bachelor’s degree in violin performance from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. She has performed as a soloist at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Strathmore Hall, the Library of Congress and as a guest soloist with the Jerusalem Symphony, the San Diego Symphony, the Utah Symphony, the Orchestra at Temple Square, and the internationally acclaimed Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

Ms. Baker performed as a first violinist with the National Symphony Orchestra for seven years before resigning in 2007 to devote more time to her young family. She has released ten albums since 1998. They have sold more than 150,000 copies and charted on the National Billboard Charts multiple times, with her last album, “Then Sings my Soul” hitting No. 1 on Billboard.  Ms. Baker, her husband Matthew, and their four children reside outside of Washington D.C.

Free Concert to Celebrate The Values of Young Women

On the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Young Women Values program, Shadow Mountain Records releases a Young Women values-themed album for a new generation.  “Live What I Know: Honoring the Values of Young Women”, is filled with original songs from singers/songwriters like Hilary Weeks, Julie de Azevedo, Cherie Call, and more.

In conjunction with the album, Deseret Book is hosting a FREE concert for young women and their leaders.  The event will be Wednesday, August 24th at 7:15pm at Cottonwood High School.  Songs from the album will be performed by the original artists, and the performers will share their thoughts about each of the Young Women Values in their own unique way.

Tickets are required, and can be found at

Deseret Book will also carry a book of sheet music and accompaniment tracks for the entire album.  These products will provide Young Women the opportunity to present the album as a musical program within their individual communities.

Each of the original songs highlights the Young Women values, including the newly added value virtue. The hope of the album is to help inspire young women to live a virtuous life and stand firm in the faith through everyday trials. The Young Women Values are: Faith, Divine Nature, Individual Worth, Knowledge, Choice and Accountability, Good Works, Integrity, and Virtue.

The track list includes:

  1. He Loves Me (Katherine Nelson & Jessi Osmond)
  2. I Find Faith (Hilary Weeks)
  3. I Am Divine (Carmen Rasmusen Herbert)
  4. My Story (Stephanie Mabey)
  5. When I Learn (Katherine Nelson)
  6. I Choose Him (April Meservy)
  7. Good Work for Me to Do (Cherie Call)
  8. He Whispers Courage  (Julie Yardley)
  9. The Virtue of Gold (Jenessa Buttars)
  10. Live What I Know (Haley Anderson)

Women of Hope

This stunning new CD brings together the best talents in the LDS music community in celebration of the power of women to bring hope to a weary world. Women of Hope will quickly become a powerful motivator for women to raise their spirituality, to stand against the negative power of the adversary, and to find hope in the sanctifying spirit of service. It’s music every woman will cherish as she strives to become a “woman of hope.”

Click here to purchase


Wish Upon A Star

Acclaimed classical violinist Jenny Oaks Baker joins Emmy-award-winning composer Kurt Bestor to create a memorable and entertaining album adapted from classic Disney favorites. This album will prove to be a favorite among generations who grew up with these Disney classics and children who are now discovering them for the first time. No family’s music collection is complete without Jenny Oaks Baker’s new album.

Get it Now.

Purchase at Deseretbook.comPurchase On Amazon Purchase on iTunes

Wish Upon A Star

  • Date
  • Genres
  • Artists
    Jenny Oaks Baker

Every Step

Some of Hilary Weeks’ best music yet, Every Step is packed full of the classic Hilary sound fans have come to love – with more energy than ever before.

Writing and singing new songs for Every Step, has taken her all the way to Nashville where she recorded and produced the album with Tyler Castleton and many other wildly talented musicians.

If you’re a Hilary Weeks fan, this is an album you won’t want to ignore.

Get it Now.

Purchase at Deseretbook.comPurchase On Amazon Purchase on iTunes

Every Step

  • Date
  • Genres
    Christian & Gospel
  • Artists
    Hilary Weeks